The Best Cookies EVER – Revised

Last year I declared these the best cookies in the world ever.It seems I was premature because the ones in this post are definitely the best in the world. The recipe was given to me by a lovely man named Mike who I used to work with – I think his wife made them up and you can find their website which has some delicious chocolatey things on it here. 

I managed to make 16 cookies with this recipe they weren’t huge but by no means small and they are super sweet and choc full of chocolate – see what I did there 😉

As it is a chocolate recipe involving chocolate the quality of chocolate used will effect the overall taste. I used Galaxy for the milk and Morrisons own for the white and they were delicious. Supermarket own brand tasted great and I’ll probably use supermarket own white and milk next time. I wouldn’t use value range – past experience has taught me that it burns quite easily – but there is no need to go high end. Of course if you want to crack out the Green& Blacks I imagine it will take the worlds best ever cookies to a wonderful new level

100g milk chocolate
100g white chocolate
125g softened butter
100g caster sugar
100g light muscovado sugar
1 egg
220g plain flour
3 tbsps cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Preheat the oven to 180°C.
Beat together the butter and the two sugars until soft and fluffy, then beat in the egg. Sift in the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda. Mix well.
Cut the chocolate into large chunks, then stir into the cookie mixture until evenly distributed.
Arrange dessert spoons of the cookie mixture, roll into balls then flatten slightly.
Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes until just firm, they will harden as they cool. Leave on the baking tray for around 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to finish cooling.

 

 

Cookies

Leave a Reply

