Snickers Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cake

It was recently my mums birthday and she has a serious sweet tooth, she is one of my favourite people to make cakes for and unlike my sister (cheesecake) and my brother (key lime pie) she wants a different cake each year for her birthday so I get to experiment.

SP06
This year’s cake is a Snickers Peanut Butter Brownie Ice Cream Cake.

The best words in the world all smushed together into a wonderful cacophony of something that couldn’t possibly be real, this cake was invented by this incredibly talented woman read her recipes and embrace the cake life.

I did a single layer as I am only in possession of one 8” spring-form tin and experience tells me that brownies do not want to be cut in half length ways, the double layer version looks amazing so if you do have two pans go for the dual layer!
If (when) I make this cake again, I would take the extra time to make my own brownie, I could tell that layer was from a box – though no one else had any complaints so it’s probably me being fussy!

I’ve translated the ingredients into Brit friendly terms and written the recipe as I used it but you can find the original recipe in all its glory here.

1 box brownie mix, plus ingredients required on box
60ml milk
250g cream cheese, softened
50g sugar
300g peanut butter
250g Whipped double or whipping cream
Chocolate dessert sauce
Caramel dessert sauce (I used this)
Snickers (I used Tescos own brand as I blew the budget on the sauce!)
SP02
Brownie Layer
1. Grease and line an 8inch spring-form tin. Make brownie dough according to instructions on back of box. I used Betty Crocker and substituted the oil for melted butter, added an extra egg and threw in some chocolate chips to give it more of a homemade taste. Pour the brownie mix into the tin and bake for the time on the box for 20 – 25 minutes. When the brownie is baked allow to cool completely.

Ice Cream layer
1. Combine milk, cream cheese, sugar and peanut butter together in the bowl of a stand mixer, or with a hand mixer. Mix until completely combined.
2. Fold in the whipped cream.

SP07

Putting it Together
Spread 1/2 cup caramel sauce and 1/2 cup chocolate sauce over the brownie. Top with first group of chopped snickers*
Top with the peanut butter ice cream.
Allow ice cream cake to freeze completely – I left mine in the freezer for a day and a half before it was served.
When frozen, remove from spring-form tin.
Top with additional caramel sauce and chocolate sauce, allowing it to drizzle down the sides.
Cover with remaining chopped snickers and a little more caramel and chocolate sauce.

SP01
*Snickers can be quite difficult to chop, my tip is to freeze them first and then chop with a strong knife. You can’t be shy about the chopping and I did make a racket but it was the easiest way to get the pieces sized how I wanted.

Note: Is anyone else watching the Great British Bake Off? I am a big fan and find it so inspiring the bakers are all so creative and experimental and I really love the food history sections. Why didn’t I know Food Historian was a job at school!?

Leave a Reply

