The Best Cookies Ever

I will put this as modestly as I can. These are the greatest cookies known to man.
Seriously.

Every time I make them I get lots of compliments and they rarely last very long. This particular batch I took into my office this morning and I have been getting nonstop thank you’s and praise, they were also all eaten within an hour.

Since discovering this recipe (a Nigella Lawson) I have never bothered with any other cookie recipe because there really is no need, they are PERFECT, everything you want in a cookie and more.

Makes 18-20 large cookies

150g soft unsalted butter
125g soft light brown sugar
100g caster sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 egg, fridge-cold
1 egg yolk, fridge-cold
300g flour
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
320g – 350g chocolate chips/ chunks/ cut up chocolate bars – this time I have used a mixture of milk and white but one type on its own or throw dark in there, it’s all good

1. Preheat the oven to 170C/160C fan/gas mark 3. Line a baking sheet with baking parchment.

2. Melt the butter and let it cool a bit. Put the brown and white sugars into a bowl, pour the slightly cooled, melted butter over them and beat together.
Cookies01

Cookies02

3. Beat in the vanilla, the cold egg and cold egg yolk until your mixture is light and creamy.

4. Sift and slowly mix in the flour and the bicarb until just blended, then fold in the chocolate chips*

Cookies03

Cookies04

5. Scoop the cookie dough into a round ice-cream scoop and drop onto the prepared baking. You will need to make these 2 batches, keeping the bowl of cookie dough in the fridge between batches.

Cookies05

6. Bake for 15-17 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to wire racks.

* I like using bars of chocolate rather than chips as I like getting a good old chunk of chocolate when I bite into a cookie. I often find bars difficult to chop up even in a mini chopper, the best method I’ve s to have chocolate that is ever so slightly warm and cut with scissors.

Cookies06

2 thoughts on “The Best Cookies Ever

  1. Pingback: The Best Cookies EVER – Revised | Becca's Bits & Bobs

Leave a Reply

